Wasuta – We Are Cats – Album Review

Wasuta return with their first full length album since the graduation of former member Hazuki Sakamoto.

“We Are Cats” is the first full length album since 2019’s “Cat’ch The World” (There a LOT of cat related puns in Wasuta material).

I became aware of Wasuta in 2019 just prior to the release of “Cat’ch The World” by an acquaintance, and apart from a few prior tracks, I started with “Cat’ch The World”, and I was extremely impressed as the album contains mostly absolutely fantastic tracks from the then 5 member group. However, unfortunately, I can’t say the same for “We Are Cats”.

The new album contains mostly new tracks, there are actually 3 re-recordings of older songs on this album, the one that will get most people’s attention is the re-recording of “Ultra Miracle Final Ultimate Choco Beam”, an extremely popular song from their debut album. Unfortunately though, I found myself not really caring much for the new songs here, and quite honestly I find quite a few of them pretty mediocre, such as “The World Standard Dancing Club”, nothing really stands out for me from that song.

My favourite of the new songs is “Cat Walkin'”, but honestly, in my opinion, that isn’t really saying much, as I still find that song pretty mediocre for the most part, just not as mediocre as the others.

Overall, in my opinion, this is a very disappointing effort from Wasuta here, as I know they are capable of a LOT better than this.

I score the album 5.5/10 overall.

You can stream the album on Spotify and it is available for purchase from CD Japan and Amazon Japan.

Leave a comment